- Vehicles
- 3,874
- Built between
- Not published
- Models
- 40
- Recall type
- Equipment
- Initiated by
- NHTSA compliance test
- Owners notified
- 1 May 2001
- Repaired
- Not reported
- Unrepaired
- Not reported
Does this affect my vehicle?
The manufacturer did not publish a build-date range for this recall, so the model and year list below is the only way to tell whether your vehicle is covered.
- Keystone PLACD94TL
- Keystone PLACD96TL
- Keystone PLACD96TL1
- Keystone PLC962DTL
- Keystone PLC964DTL1
- Keystone PLCS82TL
- Keystone PLCS94TL
- Keystone PLCVC92TL
- Keystone PLDG96TL
- Keystone PLFD97TL
- Keystone Pltrktl
- Keystone Rear Tail Lamp
- Pilot PLACD94TL
- Pilot PLACD96TL
- Pilot PLACD96TL1
- Pilot PLC964DTL
- Pilot PLC964DTL1
- Pilot PLC96DTL
- Pilot PLCS82TL
- Pilot PLCS94TL
- Pilot PLCVC92TL
- Pilot PLDG96TL
- Pilot PLFD97TL
- Pilot Pltrktl
- Toucan 060120
- Toucan 060220
- Toucan 060320
- Toucan 060420
- Toucan 060520
- Toucan 060620
- Toucan 060720
- Toucan 060820
- Toucan 060920
- Toucan 061020
- Toucan 061520
- Toucan 061620
- Toucan 061720
- Toucan 061820
- Toucan 061920
- Toucan 062220
What the defect is
Equipment description: taillamp assemblies which were not manufactured with side reflex reflectors and/or side marker lamps as required under federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 108, "lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment." these lamps were sold between january 1, 1999, and december 31, 2000.
What could happen
Without the reflective material, the vehicle may not be clearly visible to other motorists which could result in a vehicle crash.
What gets fixed
KEYSTONE WILL NOTFIY DEALERS/OWNERS TO RETURN THE NONCOMPLIANT LAMPS FOR A FREE REPLACEMENT. OWNER NOTIFICATION BEGAN MAY 1, 2001.
Timeline
- Recall reported to NHTSA23 March 2001
- Owners notified1 May 2001
Your rights
A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.
That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 23 March 2001.
To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.
Manufacturer contact
Owners who take their vehicles to an authorized dealer on an agreed upon service date and do not receive the free remedy within a reasonable time should contact keystone at 570-655-4514.
Official source
- Recalling manufacturer
- KEYSTONE AUTOMOTIVE OPERATIONS
- Safety standard
- FMVSS 108
- Recall initiated by
- OVSC
Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.
Additional notes
Also contact the national highway traffic safety administration's auto safety hotline at 1-888-DASH-2-DOT (1-888-327-4236).
Check your own vehicle
This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.
A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.