- Vehicles
- 133
- Built between
- Apr 2005 – Sep 2006
- Models
- 10
- Recall type
- Vehicle
- Initiated by
- NHTSA investigation
- Owners notified
- 16 October 2008
- Repaired
- Not reported
- Unrepaired
- Not reported
Does this affect my vehicle?
This recall covers vehicles built between April 2005 and September 2006. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.
- 2006 Dodge 2500Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2006 Ford E-250Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2004, 2006 Ford E-350Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2005 Ford E-450Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2005 Ford E250Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2000, 2005 Ford E350Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2000 Ford E450Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2005 GMC 3500Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2006 GMC Savana 3500Built April 2005 to September 2006
- 2005-2006 GMC Sierra 2500Built April 2005 to September 2006
What the defect is
Mobilityworks is recalling 133 my 2005-2006 ford E250, my 2000, 2004-2006 E350, my 2000, 2005 E450, my 2005-2006 gmc 2500, gmc 3500, and my 2006 dodge 2500 vans equipped with ricon platform style wheelchair lifts. These lifts fail to comply with the requirements of federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 403, "platform lift systems for motor vehicles." the anti-stow interlock may not detect the presence of a wheelchair or mobility aid user. The pressure sensing switch that detects the presence of weight on the platform was not adjusted to the necessary sensitivity level. The lift could stow even though someone or something is still on the lift.
What could happen
A lift occupant can be injured should the lift begin to stow unintentionally.
What gets fixed
MOBILITYWORKS IS WORKING WITH RICON TO CORRECT THE WHEELCHAIR LIFTS FREE OF CHARGE (PLEASE SEE 07E097).
Timeline
- Vehicles builtApril 2005 to September 2006
- Recall reported to NHTSA6 October 2008
- Owners notified16 October 2008
Your rights
A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.
That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 6 October 2008.
To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.
Manufacturer contact
Owners may contact ricon at 1-818-267-3000 or mobilityworks at 1-800-769-8267.
Official source
- Recalling manufacturer
- MOBILITY WORKS
- Safety standard
- FMVSS 403
- Recall initiated by
- ODI
Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.
Additional notes
Customers may also contact the national highway traffic safety administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to http://www.safercar.gov.
Check your own vehicle
This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.
A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.