Chevrolet Equipment Adaptive/Mobility

Chevrolet is recalling about 185 vehicles over a problem with the equipment adaptive/mobility. The user of the lift could be injured should the lift move unintentionally.

Campaign
09V270000
Manufacturer
MAIN MOBILITY, INC.
Reported
6 July 2009
Vehicles
185
Built between
Apr 2005 – Jun 2009
Models
2
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
NHTSA investigation
Owners notified
25 June 2009
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

This recall covers vehicles built between April 2005 and June 2009. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.

  • 2005-2009 Chevrolet ExpressBuilt April 2005 to June 2009
  • 2005-2009 GMC SavanaBuilt April 2005 to June 2009

What the defect is

Main mobility is recalling 185 model year 2005 through 2009 chevrolet express and gmc savana vans manufactured between april 1, 2005 and june 25, 2009, equipped with ricon platform style wheelchair lifts. These vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 404, "platform lift installations in motor vehicles." the threshold warning system may not detect the presence of a wheelchair or mobility aid user in a certain spot within the defined threshold area.

What could happen

The user of the lift could be injured should the lift move unintentionally.

What gets fixed

MAIN MOBILITY IS WORKING WITH RICON TO CORRECT THE WHEELCHAIR LIFTS FREE OF CHARGE (PLEASE SEE 07E095).

Timeline

  1. Vehicles builtApril 2005 to June 2009
  2. Recall reported to NHTSA6 July 2009
  3. Owners notified25 June 2009

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 6 July 2009.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact ricon at 1-818-267-3000 or main mobility at 1-716-759-6811.

Official source

Recalling manufacturer
MAIN MOBILITY, INC.
Safety standard
FMVSS 403
Recall initiated by
ODI

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Additional notes

Owners may also contact the national highway traffic safety administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to <a href=http://www.safercar.gov>http://www.safercar.gov</a> .

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand