Spicer Power Train: Driveshaft

Spicer is recalling about 32,560 vehicles over a problem with the power train. These cracks may lead to driveshaft failure which could result in driveshaft separation increasing the risk of a vehicle crash.

Campaign
10E003000
Manufacturer
DANA HOLDING CORPORATION
Reported
17 February 2010
Vehicles
32,560
Built between
Not published
Models
2
Recall type
Equipment
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
11 February 2010
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

The manufacturer did not publish a build-date range for this recall, so the model and year list below is the only way to tell whether your vehicle is covered.

  • Spicer SD231
  • Spicer SD258

What the defect is

Dana holding corporation has notified NHTSA about a defect in certain tube yokes, manufactured from heat code nos. SD231/DF and SD258/DV and forged in specific molds (cavity 1 and 3), used in driveshafts installed as original equipment on certain ford, nissan, and toyota vehicles. Certain of these forged components could contain cracks along the tube yoke lug ears.

What could happen

These cracks may lead to driveshaft failure which could result in driveshaft separation increasing the risk of a vehicle crash.

What gets fixed

EACH VEHICLE MANUFACTURER WILL DETERMINE WHETHER TO FILE A DEFECT REPORT BASED ON THEIR VEHICLE DESIGN AND AN APPROPRIATE REMEDY PLAN FOR THEIR VEHICLES WHICH INCLUDED THESE TUBE YOKES IN THEIR DRIVESHAFT ASSEMBLIES AS ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT. REMEDIES MAY BE SPECIFIC TO EACH VEHICLE APPLICATION, AND MAY INCLUDE INSPECTION AND/OR REPLACEMENT OF THE DRIVESHAFT. DANA IS WORKING WITH THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURES TO ASSIST IN THEIR DETERMINATION OF VEHICLE SPECIFIC REMEDIES. THE AFFECTED VEHICLES WILL BE REPAIRED FREE OF CHARGE.

Timeline

  1. Recall reported to NHTSA17 February 2010
  2. Owners notified11 February 2010

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 17 February 2010.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact their vehicle manufacturer or dana at 1-419-887-3000.

Official source

Recalling manufacturer
DANA HOLDING CORPORATION
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Additional notes

Owners may also contact the national highway traffic safety administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to <a href=http://www.safercar.gov>http://www.safercar.gov</a> .

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand