Scion Equipment: Labels

Scion is recalling about 153,418 vehicles over a problem with the equipment. A driver may overload a vehicle which may increase the risk of a crash.

Campaign
10V036000
Manufacturer
SOUTHEAST TOYOTA DISTRIBUTORS, LLC
Reported
3 February 2010
Vehicles
153,418
Built between
Not published
Models
20
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
27 May 2010
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

The manufacturer did not publish a build-date range for this recall, so the model and year list below is the only way to tell whether your vehicle is covered.

  • 2006-2010 Scion TC
  • 2005-2006 Scion XA
  • 2006-2010 Scion XB
  • 2008-2010 Scion XD
  • 2005-2010 Toyota 4RUNNER
  • 2005-2010 Toyota Avalon
  • 2005-2011 Toyota Camry
  • 2006-2010 Toyota Corolla
  • 2007-2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser
  • 2006-2010 Toyota Highlander
  • 2005-2010 Toyota Land Cruiser
  • 2006, 2010 Toyota Matrix
  • 2005-2010 Toyota Prius
  • 2005-2010 Toyota RAV4
  • 2005-2008, 2010 Toyota Sequoia
  • 2004-2011 Toyota Sienna
  • 2005-2010 Toyota Tacoma
  • 2005-2010 Toyota Tundra
  • 2009-2010 Toyota Venza
  • 2007-2010 Toyota Yaris

What the defect is

Southeast toyota is recalling certain model year 2005-2011 passenger vehicles for failing to comply with the requirements of federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 110, "tire selection and rims." these vehicles were sold without the requisite load carrying capacity modification labels.

What could happen

A driver may overload a vehicle which may increase the risk of a crash.

What gets fixed

DEALERS WILL MAIL TO CONSUMERS THE CORRECTED LABEL OR THE CUSTOMER WILL HAVE THE OPTION FOR DEALERS TO INSTALL THE LABEL FREE OF CHARGE. THE SAFETY RECALL BEGAN ON MAY 27, 2010.

Timeline

  1. Recall reported to NHTSA3 February 2010
  2. Owners notified27 May 2010

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 3 February 2010.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact southeast toyota at 1-800-301-6859.

Official source

Recalling manufacturer
SOUTHEAST TOYOTA DISTRIBUTORS, LLC
Safety standard
FMVSS 110
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Additional notes

Owners may also contact the national highway traffic safety administration's vehicle safety hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (tty 1-800-424-9153), or go to <a href=http://www.safercar.gov>http://www.safercar.gov</a> .

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand