Lightning Emotors Electrical System: Instrument Cluster/Panel

Lightning Emotors is recalling about 239 vehicles over a problem with the electrical system. Failure to illuminate the indicator warning lights during vehicle startup may not properly notify the driver of system failures, increasing the risk of a crash.

Campaign
23V678000
Manufacturer
Lightning eMotors Inc.
Reported
9 October 2023
Vehicles
239
Built between
Not published
Models
3
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
Not yet
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

The manufacturer did not publish a build-date range for this recall, so the model and year list below is the only way to tell whether your vehicle is covered.

  • 2022-2023 Lightning Emotors FT3-120
  • 2021-2022 Lightning Emotors FT3-40
  • 2021-2023 Lightning Emotors FT3-80

What the defect is

Lightning eMotors Inc. (Lightning eMotors) is recalling certain 2021-2022 FT3-40, 2021-2023 FT3-80, and 2022-2023 FT3-120 vehicles. The instrument cluster may not activate the "Brake," "Park," and "ABS" indicator warning lights during the light function check when the ignition is turned to the "on" (run) position. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 105, "Hydraulic and Electric Brake Systems."

What could happen

Failure to illuminate the indicator warning lights during vehicle startup may not properly notify the driver of system failures, increasing the risk of a crash.

What gets fixed

Dealers will update the software, free of charge. Owner notification letters are expected to be mailed December 1, 2023.

Timeline

  1. Recall reported to NHTSA9 October 2023

No owner-notification date has been published yet. Manufacturers normally write to registered owners within 60 days of reporting a recall.

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 9 October 2023.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact Lightning eMotors customer service at 1-970-744-7241.

Official source

Recalling manufacturer
Lightning eMotors Inc.
Safety standard
FMVSS 105
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Additional notes

Owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Vehicle Safety Hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (TTY 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.nhtsa.gov.

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand