Ford Electrical System: Traction Battery

Ford is recalling about 20,558 vehicles over a problem with the electrical system. Battery failure can cause a loss of drive power, increasing the risk of a crash.

Campaign
25V789000
Manufacturer
Ford Motor Company
Reported
14 November 2025
Vehicles
20,558
Built between
Jul 2019 – Apr 2024
Models
2
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
4 September 2026
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

This recall covers vehicles built between July 2019 and April 2024. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.

  • 2020-2024 Ford Escape PhevBuilt July 2019 to April 2024
  • 2021-2024 Lincoln Corsair PhevBuilt October 2019 to April 2024

What the defect is

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2020-2024 Ford Escape and 2021-2024 Lincoln Corsair plug-in hybrid vehicles. A manufacturing defect in one or more of the high voltage battery cells may result in an internal short circuit and battery failure.

What could happen

Battery failure can cause a loss of drive power, increasing the risk of a crash. Battery failure can also increase the risk of a fire.

What gets fixed

Dealers will update the battery energy control module (BECM) and hybrid powertrain control module (HPCM), free of charge. Owners are advised to only use "Auto EV" mode and will be instructed by mail to limit the maximum charge of the battery until the remedy has been completed. Owner notification letters were mailed September 4, 2026.

Parts involved

  • Unt Asy Bat H/V TrctLX6Z-10B759-EBHigh Voltage Battery Pack
  • Unt Asy Bat H/V TrctPZ1Z-10B759-AAHigh Voltage Battery Pack

Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.

Timeline

  1. Vehicles builtJuly 2019 to April 2024
  2. Recall reported to NHTSA14 November 2025
  3. Owners notified4 September 2026

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 14 November 2025.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25SC4. Vehicles in this recall were previously recalled under 24V954 and will need to have the new remedy performed. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on November 18, 2025.

Official source

Manufacturer's recall number
25SC4
Recalling manufacturer
Ford Motor Company
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand