- Vehicles
- 1,048,613
- Built between
- Sep 2022 – Jun 2026
- Models
- 3
- Recall type
- Vehicle
- Initiated by
- Manufacturer
- Owners notified
- Not yet
- Repaired
- Not reported
- Unrepaired
- Not reported
Does this affect my vehicle?
This recall covers vehicles built between September 2022 and June 2026. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.
- 2023-2026 Honda Accord HybridBuilt December 2022 to June 2026
- 2025-2026 Honda CR-V Fuel Cell EVBuilt May 2023 to January 2026
- 2023-2026 Honda CR-V HybridBuilt September 2022 to June 2026
What the defect is
Honda (American Honda Motor Co.) is recalling certain 2023-2026 CR-V Hybrid, Accord Hybrid, and 2025-2026 CR-V Fuel Cell EV vehicles. When using the tire repair kit, pressure may build within the sealant bottle, causing the bottle cap to detach.
What could happen
A detached bottle cap can become a projectile and strike the user or others nearby, increasing the risk of injury.
What gets fixed
Dealers will replace the tire repair kit nozzle or sealant bottle, free of charge. Interim letters notifying owners of the safety risk were mailed July 27, 2026. Additional letters will be sent once the final remedy is available, anticipated in Fall 2026.
Parts involved
- Kit Assy Tire Repair42770-3D4-A01Kit Assy Tire Repair
Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.
Timeline
- Vehicles builtSeptember 2022 to June 2026
- Recall reported to NHTSA4 June 2026
No owner-notification date has been published yet. Manufacturers normally write to registered owners within 60 days of reporting a recall.
Your rights
A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.
That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 4 June 2026.
To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.
Manufacturer contact
Owners may contact Honda's customer service at 1-866-784-1870. Honda's number for this recall is DOV. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will be searchable on NHTSA.gov beginning June 11, 2026.
Official source
- Manufacturer's recall number
- DOV
- Recalling manufacturer
- Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)
- Recall initiated by
- MFR
Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.
Check your own vehicle
This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.
A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.