Nissan Power Train: Gear Position Indication (prndl)

Nissan is recalling about 5,823 vehicles over a problem with the power train. A missing gear selection indicator may lead to unintended vehicle movement or a vehicle rollaway, increasing the risk of a crash.

Campaign
26V419000
Manufacturer
Nissan North America, Inc.
Reported
30 June 2026
Vehicles
5,823
Built between
Jan 2026 – Feb 2026
Models
1
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
26 August 2026
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

This recall covers vehicles built between January 2026 and February 2026. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.

  • 2026 Nissan RogueBuilt January 2026 to February 2026

What the defect is

Nissan North America, Inc. (Nissan) is recalling certain 2026 Rogue vehicles. The instrument panel may not display the transmission gear selection indicator. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 102, "Transmission Shift Lever Sequence, Starter Interlock, and Transmission Braking Effect."

What could happen

A missing gear selection indicator may lead to unintended vehicle movement or a vehicle rollaway, increasing the risk of a crash.

What gets fixed

Dealers will inspect and replace the transmission control valve assembly as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed August 31, 2026.

Parts involved

  • Valve-Assy Control Kit3170E X279AControl Valve Assembly

Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.

Timeline

  1. Vehicles builtJanuary 2026 to February 2026
  2. Recall reported to NHTSA30 June 2026
  3. Owners notified26 August 2026

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 30 June 2026.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact Nissan's customer service at 800-647-7261. Nissan's number for this recall is PD198. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on July 2, 2026.

Official source

Manufacturer's recall number
PD198
Recalling manufacturer
Nissan North America, Inc.
Safety standard
FMVSS 102
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand