Utilimaster Exterior Lighting

Utilimaster is recalling about 563 vehicles over a problem with the exterior lighting. An electrical short increases the risk of a fire.

Campaign
26V440000
Manufacturer
Shyft Group
Reported
8 July 2026
Vehicles
563
Built between
Jan 2025 – Jun 2026
Models
1
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
Not yet
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

This recall covers vehicles built between January 2025 and June 2026. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.

  • 2016, 2019, 2021 Utilimaster VelocityBuilt January 2025 to June 2026

What the defect is

Shyft Group (Shyft) is recalling certain 2016, 2019, and 2021 Utilimaster Velocity vehicles. Water may enter an improperly sealed strobe light and cause a short circuit.

What could happen

An electrical short increases the risk of a fire.

What gets fixed

Owners are advised to remove the control module for the strobe light. The remedy is currently under development. Interim owner notification letters explaining the safety risk were mailed July 17, 2026. Another notice will be sent once the remedy becomes available.

Parts involved

  • Strobe Lamp16519300Auxiliary Strobe Lamp

Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.

Timeline

  1. Vehicles builtJanuary 2025 to June 2026
  2. Recall reported to NHTSA8 July 2026

No owner-notification date has been published yet. Manufacturers normally write to registered owners within 60 days of reporting a recall.

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 8 July 2026.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact Shyft customer service at 1-800-237-7806. Shyft's number for this recall is 26-06.

Official source

Manufacturer's recall number
26-06
Recalling manufacturer
Shyft Group
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand