Storyteller Overland Electrical System

Storyteller Overland is recalling about 169 vehicles over a problem with the electrical system. An overheated printed circuit board increases the risk of a fire.

Campaign
26V566000
Manufacturer
Storyteller Overland
Reported
1 September 2026
Vehicles
169
Built between
Oct 2025 – Jun 2026
Models
2
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
NHTSA investigation
Owners notified
Not yet
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

This recall covers vehicles built between October 2025 and June 2026. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.

  • 2026 Storyteller Overland GXV HiltBuilt October 2025 to June 2026
  • 2026-2027 Storyteller Overland Mode VAN

What the defect is

Storyteller Overland, LLC (Storyteller) is recalling certain 2026-2027 MODE and 2026 GXV HILTS vehicles equipped with certain MaxxAir N-Series Maxxfan rooftop ventilation fans. The printed circuit board may fail during certain operations and overheat.

What could happen

An overheated printed circuit board increases the risk of a fire.

What gets fixed

Storyteller will inspect and replace the printed circuit board as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters are expected to be mailed October 30, 2026.

Parts involved

  • Exhaust Fan-Maxxfan Plus with Spyder control boardM5L-07-03-001-1.100-04700NX

Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.

Timeline

  1. Vehicles builtOctober 2025 to June 2026
  2. Recall reported to NHTSA1 September 2026

No owner-notification date has been published yet. Manufacturers normally write to registered owners within 60 days of reporting a recall.

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 1 September 2026.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact Storyteller customer service at 1-888-999-7442.

Official source

Recalling manufacturer
Storyteller Overland
Recall initiated by
ODI

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand