- Vehicles
- 371
- Built between
- Jan 2024 – Feb 2024
- Models
- 1
- Recall type
- Vehicle
- Initiated by
- NHTSA investigation
- Owners notified
- Not yet
- Repaired
- Not reported
- Unrepaired
- Not reported
Does this affect my vehicle?
This recall covers vehicles built between January 2024 and February 2024. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.
- 2024 Land Rover DefenderBuilt January 2024 to February 2024
What the defect is
Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC (Land Rover) is recalling certain 2024 Land Rover Defender vehicles. The second-row seat belt may be improperly stitched.
What could happen
An improperly stitched seat belt may fail to properly restrain an occupant during a crash, increasing the risk of injury.
What gets fixed
Dealers will inspect the second-row seat belt serial number, and replace the seat belt, as necessary, free of charge. Interim letters notifying owners of the safety risk are expected to be mailed November 20, 2026. Additional letters will be sent once the final remedy is available.
Parts involved
- Seatbelt assemblyLR190158Seatbelt assembly
Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.
Timeline
- Vehicles builtJanuary 2024 to February 2024
- Recall reported to NHTSA24 September 2026
No owner-notification date has been published yet. Manufacturers normally write to registered owners within 60 days of reporting a recall.
NHTSA investigations
NHTSA also has an open investigation covering some of the same vehicles. It is not part of this recall, and an investigation is not a finding that anything is wrong.
Your rights
A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.
That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 24 September 2026.
To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.
Manufacturer contact
Owners may contact Land Rover's customer service at 800-637-6837. Land Rover's number for this recall is D130.
Official source
- Manufacturer's recall number
- D130
- Recalling manufacturer
- Jaguar Land Rover North America, LLC
- Recall initiated by
- ODI
Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.
Check your own vehicle
This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.
A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.