- Vehicles
- 51
- Built between
- Jul 2025 – Nov 2025
- Models
- 1
- Recall type
- Vehicle
- Initiated by
- Manufacturer
- Owners notified
- 28 August 2026
- Repaired
- Not reported
- Unrepaired
- Not reported
Safety advisories
Park outside and away from buildings
Affected vehicles carry a fire risk that can occur while parked, even with the engine off. Park away from structures and other vehicles until the recall repair has been completed.
Does this affect my vehicle?
This recall covers vehicles built between July 2025 and November 2025. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.
- 2026 Nissan LeafBuilt July 2025 to November 2025
What the defect is
Nissan North America, Inc. (Nissan) is recalling certain 2026 LEAF vehicles. The high voltage battery may have internal damage that can cause a short circuit within the battery module.
What could happen
A short circuit in a high voltage battery module increases the risk of a fire.
What gets fixed
Owners are advised to park outside and away from structures and should not charge their vehicles until the remedy is completed. Dealers will inspect and replace the battery modules, as necessary, free of charge. Owner letters were mailed September 2, 2026.
Parts involved
- Battery Pack – Lithium Ion295R0 7TC4DBattery Pack (Heated) – 78kWh
- Battery Pack – Lithium Ion295R0 7TC6DBattery Pack (Non-Heated) – 78kWh
Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.
Timeline
- Vehicles builtJuly 2025 to November 2025
- Recall reported to NHTSA25 March 2026
- Owners notified28 August 2026
Your rights
A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.
That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 25 March 2026.
To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.
Manufacturer contact
Owners may contact Nissan's customer service at 800-647-7261. Nissan's number for this recall is R25F1. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on March 27, 2026.
Official source
- Manufacturer's recall number
- R25F1
- Recalling manufacturer
- Nissan North America, Inc.
- Recall initiated by
- MFR
Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.
Check your own vehicle
This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.
A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.