Ford Exterior Lighting: Headlights

Ford is recalling about 91,198 vehicles over a problem with the exterior lighting. Daytime Running Lamps that do not dim may reduce the visibility of other drivers, increasing the risk of a crash.

Campaign
26V373000
Manufacturer
Ford Motor Company
Reported
9 June 2026
Vehicles
91,198
Built between
Jan 2017 – Sep 2019
Models
1
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
17 July 2026
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

This recall covers vehicles built between January 2017 and September 2019. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.

  • 2018-2020 Ford F-150Built January 2017 to September 2019

What the defect is

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2018-2020 F-150 vehicles previously repaired incorrectly under recall number 20V097. When the headlight switch is turned from "Autolamps" to "Headlamps On," the Daytime Running Lamps (DRLs) may remain fully bright instead of dimming to parking lamps as intended. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) number 108, "Lamps, Reflective Devices and Associated Equipment."

What could happen

Daytime Running Lamps that do not dim may reduce the visibility of other drivers, increasing the risk of a crash.

What gets fixed

,Dealers will reprogram the body control module software, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed July 17, 2026.

Parts involved

  • Body Control Module*-15604-*Body Control Module software

Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.

Timeline

  1. Vehicles builtJanuary 2017 to September 2019
  2. Recall reported to NHTSA9 June 2026
  3. Owners notified17 July 2026

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 9 June 2026.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26C28. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will become searchable on NHTSA.gov on July 6, 2026.

Official source

Manufacturer's recall number
26C28
Recalling manufacturer
Ford Motor Company
Safety standard
FMVSS 108
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand