- Vehicles
- 565,691
- Built between
- Sep 2020 – Jun 2026
- Models
- 1
- Recall type
- Vehicle
- Initiated by
- NHTSA investigation
- Owners notified
- 5 August 2026
- Repaired
- Not reported
- Unrepaired
- Not reported
Does this affect my vehicle?
This recall covers vehicles built between September 2020 and June 2026. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.
- 2021-2026 Ford BroncoBuilt September 2020 to June 2026
What the defect is
Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2021-2026 Bronco and Bronco Raptor vehicles. The engine compartment wiring harness may become damaged and short circuit.
What could happen
A short circuit in the engine compartment can create heat or spark, increasing the risk of a fire.
What gets fixed
Dealers will install sheathing over the wiring, free of charge. This is a Phased campaign. Phase 1 will include 2026 Bronco Raptor notified owners on 7/31/2026. Phase 2 will include 2021-2025 Bronco Raptor vehicle will notify owners on or about 8/14/2026. Phase 3 will include 2021-2026 Bronco will notify owners on or about 9/1/2026. Owner notification letters were mailed August 5, 2026.
Parts involved
- Engine Compartment Wiring HarnessM2DT-14290-***Engine Compartment Wiring Harness (21MY)
- Engine Compartment Wiring HarnessN2DT-14290-***Engine Compartment Wiring Harness (21MY, 22MY)
- Engine Compartment Wiring HarnessP2DT-14290-***Engine Compartment Wiring Harness (23MY, 24MY)
- Engine Compartment Wiring HarnessR2DT-14290-***Engine Compartment Wiring Harness (25MY)
- Engine Compartment Wiring HarnessS2DT-14290-***Engine Compartment Wiring Harness (25MY)
- Engine Compartment Wiring HarnessT2DT-14290-***Engine Compartment Wiring Harness (26MY)
Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.
Timeline
- Vehicles builtSeptember 2020 to June 2026
- Recall reported to NHTSA20 July 2026
- Owners notified5 August 2026
Your rights
A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.
That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 20 July 2026.
To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.
Manufacturer contact
Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26S55. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on July 23, 2026.
Official source
- Manufacturer's recall number
- 26S55
- Recalling manufacturer
- Ford Motor Company
- Recall initiated by
- ODI
Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.
Check your own vehicle
This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.
A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.