Tesla Suspension: Critical Fasteners

Tesla is recalling about 19 vehicles over a problem with the suspension. A lateral link separation could shift the wheel alignment, causing a loss of vehicle control and increasing the risk of a crash.

Campaign
26V558000
Manufacturer
Tesla, Inc.
Reported
31 August 2026
Vehicles
19
Built between
Jul 2026 – Aug 2026
Models
1
Recall type
Vehicle
Initiated by
Manufacturer
Owners notified
Not yet
Repaired
Not reported
Unrepaired
Not reported

Does this affect my vehicle?

This recall covers vehicles built between July 2026 and August 2026. If yours was built outside that window, it is not part of this recall.

  • 2026 Tesla Model YBuilt July 2026 to August 2026

What the defect is

Tesla, Inc. (Tesla) is recalling certain 2026 Model Y vehicles. One or more front suspension lateral link fasteners may not have been properly tightened, allowing the lateral link to loosen or separate from the sub-frame.

What could happen

A lateral link separation could shift the wheel alignment, causing a loss of vehicle control and increasing the risk of a crash.

What gets fixed

Tesla Service will tighten or replace the fasteners and check wheel the alignment, free of charge. In addition, Tesla Service will replace any related parts that may have been damaged as necessary. Owner notification letters are expected to be mailed October 30, 2026.

Parts involved

  • BLT,HF,M14-2.0x65,[109],ZNFL,P011109912-00-BFront lateral link to subframe bolt

Part numbers are as filed by the manufacturer and are listed for reference. Your dealer will confirm the correct part for your vehicle.

Timeline

  1. Vehicles builtJuly 2026 to August 2026
  2. Recall reported to NHTSA31 August 2026

No owner-notification date has been published yet. Manufacturers normally write to registered owners within 60 days of reporting a recall.

Your rights

A safety recall repair is free. Under US federal law the manufacturer must fix a safety defect at no cost to you — no charge for parts, labor or diagnosis — whether or not you are the original owner. A dealer cannot charge you for recall work, and cannot require you to have bought the vehicle from them.

That entitlement is not unlimited. It applies where the vehicle was first sold less than 15 years before the recall was announced — 5 years for tires. Past that a manufacturer may still do the repair free of charge, and many do, but they are no longer obliged to. This recall was reported on 31 August 2026.

To arrange the repair, contact any franchised dealer for the brand. If a dealer refuses the work or tries to charge for it, you can report that to NHTSA at nhtsa.gov/recalls or on 1-888-327-4236.

Manufacturer contact

Owners may contact Tesla customer service at 1-877-798-3752. Tesla's number for this recall is SB-26-31-004.

Official source

Manufacturer's recall number
SB-26-31-004
Recalling manufacturer
Tesla, Inc.
Recall initiated by
MFR

Everything on this page — the models listed, the build dates and the repair figures — comes from the manufacturer's filing to NHTSA and describes the vehicle line as a whole, not any individual car. Only the manufacturer can confirm whether a specific vehicle is affected, and whether its recall work has already been carried out. Check yours by VIN and read the official notice at nhtsa.gov/recalls.

Check your own vehicle

This page describes the recall, not any one car. To see which recalls cover a specific vehicle, search by make, model and year.

A VIN lookup here identifies your vehicle and shows recalls issued for that make, model and year. It cannot tell you what is still open on your individual car - only the manufacturer knows that. Search by VIN instead, or check your VIN at nhtsa.gov for whether a recall is still open on your individual car.

Same component

Same brand